The Honorable Ellen Tauscher Joins BAE Systems, Inc. Board of Directors

“Ellen brings a unique blend of skills and experience to our board from her esteemed public service as an elected U.S. representative to her well-respected expertise in national security and foreign policy,” said Michael Chertoff, chairman, BAE Systems, Inc. board of directors. “Her insight and advice on the many important issues confronting the defense industry and our customers will be invaluable, and I’m pleased to welcome her to the board.”

Tauscher served as Under Secretary of State for Arms Control and International Security, and served as Special Envoy for Strategic Stability and Missile Defense at the U.S. State Department from 2009 to 2012. Prior to joining the Obama Administration, she represented California's 10th Congressional District in the U.S. House of Representatives, where she was a member of the Armed Services Committee for more than 12 years and became the chairman of the Strategic Forces subcommittee.

Prior to her government service, Tauscher had a successful career in the financial sector as one of the first women to become a member of the New York Stock Exchange.

After more than 16 years of public service in Congress and the State Department, Tauscher returned to the private sector in February 2012. She is currently a strategic advisor at Baker Donelson Bearman, Caldwell & Berkowitz PC, and serves as an independent director for a number of public and private companies, not-for-profit, and non-governmental organizations.

A lifetime member of the Council on Foreign Relations, Tauscher sits on the boards of The Atlantic Council of the United States, The National Comprehensive Cancer Network Foundation, eHealth, and Edison International. She also serves on the Board of Governors of Lawrence Livermore National Security Corporation and Los Alamos National Security Corporation.

In addition to the new board appointment of Tauscher, the month of April also marks the completion of the terms for three BAE Systems, Inc. outside directors, including Robert Fitch, Linda Hudson, and Lt. Gen. Kenneth Minihan (USAF, Retired). 

“I would like to thank Bob, Linda, and Ken, not only for the wise counsel they provided BAE Systems as members of the company’s board, but for their years of dedicated service in support of the country’s national security,” said Jerry DeMuro, president & CEO of BAE Systems, Inc.

With these changes, beginning on May 1, 2015, the BAE Systems, Inc. Board of Directors will be as follows:

The Honorable Michael Chertoff
Chairman of the Board
Former Secretary of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security

Jerry DeMuro
President & CEO, BAE Systems, Inc.

Ian Graham
Senior Vice President, General Counsel & Secretary, BAE Systems, Inc.

The Honorable Lee H. Hamilton
Former Member of Congress & Co-Chair of the 9/11 Commission

Richard J. Kerr
Former Deputy Director of Central Intelligence

Ian King
Chief Executive, BAE Systems plc

Peter Lynas
Group Finance Director, BAE Systems plc

Admiral Robert Natter
(USN, Retired)
Former Commander of Fleet Forces & Atlantic Command

Frank Ruggiero
Senior Vice President, Government Relations, BAE Systems, Inc.

The Honorable Ellen O. Tauscher
Former Member of Congress & Under Secretary of State

Ref. 054/2015

12 Default Profile Image
Brian Roehrkasse
VP, External Communications

Office: +1 703 312 6976
Mobile: +1 703 307 2568