Less than half of global telecom providers have a fully implemented, well-defined cybersecurity strategy in place, despite concerns over mounting threat levels and emerging 5G risks, according to a new survey from BAE Systems Digital Intelligence.
 
The new study, which is based on in-depth interviews with IT and cybersecurity decision makers in telecoms businesses across the UK, Northern Africa and Eastern Europe, revealed that just:
  • 46 per cent of respondents have a well-defined strategy fully in place - Learn more
  •  39 per cent have fully deployed penetration testing - Learn more
  •  42 per cent have deployed threat intelligence capabilities - Learn more
 

46%

have a well-defined cyber security strategy

39%

have fully deployed penetration testing

42%

have threat intelligence capabilities

 
  •  69 per cent say that the reduced network capacity resulting from a cyber-attack would have a severe (42 per cent) or catastrophic (27 per cent) impact on their business - Learn more
  •  28 per cent also claim that downtime resulting from a security breach would be catastrophic, while slightly fewer say the same about increased traffic costs - Learn more
 

Complimentary Insight: Mitigating Cyber Risk in Telecoms


Mitigating cyber risk in telecoms cover image
 
Communication service providers (CSPs) play an essential role in any nation’s critical infrastructure (CNI). That makes them an attractive target for nation state operatives and financially motivated cyber-criminals.
 
Whether the end goal is to sabotage and disrupt networks, hold telcos to ransom for money, or steal strategically advantageous customer data and IP, the risks are real and growing.
 
But what are the threats that concern CSPs most today, and which strategies could help to mitigate these? 
 
Download the report
 
 

Security Threat and Risk Assessment


To address the increasing challenge of cybersecurity, telecom operators should implement a risk-based approach to security, prioritising vulnerabilities, addressing the biggest risks first and reducing the attack surface where possible.

Security Threat and Risk Assessment (STARA) is a truly holistic threat and risk assessment methodology in which we examine your exposure to full spectrum attack through the identification of threat led and evidence based risks.

Our STARA methodology not only allows for a comprehensive analysis of your organisation’s current exposure to full spectrum attack, but also to understand the maturity of your security against some of the most advanced and persistent threat actors in the world - Learn more about STARA.
 

 

We have been working with our telecommunications customers for over three decades, combining our regulatory compliance, cyber security and digital transformation expertise. Contact us today or explore our Telecommunications Insights to find out more.


Explore Telecommunications Insights  Contact us
 
Telecoms operators in the eye of the cyberstorm image tile

Webinar: Telecom operators in the eye of the cyber storm

Tuesday, May 24, 2022 8am PT / 10am CT / 11am ET / 5pm CEST / 4pm BST - Register Now

What are the key cyber threats that telcos face? What are the regulatory pressures to improve security? And how can telcos bolster their defenses?
Find out more
 

Subscribe to Telecommunications Insights

Please enter your email address to opt-in and receive our Telecommunications Insights.

Thank you for your subscription.
Contact

Contact our Experts

A member of our regional teams can help you today. Email: learn@baesystems.com
 

Americas: +1 720 696 9830    |    Europe: +44 (0) 330 158 3627    |    Middle East: +971 4 568 6776 
Australia: +61 290 539 330    |    Malaysia: +60 327 309 390    |    Singapore: +65 6951 2440